Posted by: philosopherouge | August 31, 2007

The Tale of Orpheus and Eurydice

 Back in the day I was a huge Greek mythology nut, and I think my passion has been rekindled after reading once again the Tale of Orpheus and Eurydice once again. I picked up Ovid’s The Metamorphoses, and hopefully will be reading it in the next coming days. Even in the shortest story or passage, there is so much beauty and insight into human kind, as well being an interesting reflection on Ancient Roman society. The story has been adapted several times on the screen, including versions by Cocteau and Camus. I’ve seen Black Orpheus, although it has been a while. I love how they updated the story, and the use of music is divine. I’ll definetely be seeing Cocteau’s in the near future. In the mean time, one of my favourite moments of the film via youtube:

Leave a Reply

Categories

