Posted by: philosopherouge | November 1, 2007

November’s Theme: Silence

I asked a little while back on people’s thoughts for a theme, and the most popular seemed to be silent cinema. Already, several of my favourite films are silent movies, but still I’ve seen barely any comparitively to any other decade, and have missed out on many of the greats. Obviously, I’m not going to be watching exclusively silent films this month, but any other reviews I may have that are not on topic I’ll be posting at Chicks on Fire. I aim to see at least 10 feature length silents I had never seen before, as well as several shorts. I’m happy to take suggestions for films you think I’d enjoy, or should see. I’m not only going to post reviews but additional thoughts, and notes on silent stars, practises, etc. I aim to have at least one post a day.

To start, this is a list of my 10 favourite feature lengths

1. City Lights (Chaplin, 1931)
2. Pandora’s Box (Pabst, 1929)
3. La Passion de Jeanne D’Arc (Dreyer, 1928)
4. Metropolis (Lang, 1927)
5. Foolish Wives (Stroheim, 1922)
6. Nosferatu (Murnau, 1922)
7. The General (Keaton, 1927)
8. Diary of a Lost Girl (Pabst, 1929)
9. Greed (Stroheim, 1924)

10. The Cabinet of Dr. Caligari (Wiene, 1920)

Twenty films I’d like to see the most:
Les Vampires (Feuillade,1915)
Sunrise (Murnau, 1927)
Faust (Murnau, 1926)
Broken Blossoms (Griffith, 1919)
Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde (Robertson, 1920)
Orphans of the Storm (Griffith, 1921)
The Phantom Chariot (Sjöström, 1921)
Joyless Street (Pabst, 1926)
Paris qui dort (Clair, 1925)
La Boheme (Vidor, 1926)

Beggars of Life (Wellman, 1928)
A Girl in Every Port (Hawks,1928)
Street Angel (Borzage,1928)
The Crowd (Vidor, 1928)
Napoleon (Gance, 1927)
Dr. Mabuse: The Gambler (Lang, 1921)
The Lodger (Hitchcock, 1922)
7th Heaven (Borzage, 1927)
Where East Is East (Browning, 1929)
The Big Parade (Vidor, 1925)

Responses

  1. Sounds good!

  2. I noticed you had one Keaton film there. Have you tried Sherlock Jr. or Our Hospitality?

    “City Lights” would probably be my number 1 too.

  3. Watch Napoleon… as well as any other French Impressionist films you can find.

    Know why?

    Uh, yeah, you have too many blogger commitments + your intellectual talents are squandered adding to the numerous reviews and blogs… Allegorically, you’re pouring salt into the ocean. Come pour your salt into our small puddle, please. We need you.

  4. Jeremy: I haven’t! I’m terribly behind in my Keaton viewing, oh the shame! I’ve seen quite a few of his shorts though.

    Mango: Yes, I know! I’m terribly scattered. I’ll pour some salt into your little puddle ASAP.

  5. We need to see a lot of the same silent films!

    Napoleon is a necessity. I saw it only last year. Exceedingly long but very fascinating and innovative, particularly Gance’s use of split-screens. It also contains one of the more substantial roles played by Antonin Artaud (Joan of Arc is the other), who I simply adore.

    One other Expressionist film I’d recommend that is not as widely mentioned is Der Golem. And you rshouldn’t miss Lon Chaney in The Phantom of the Opera either.

  6. I’ll keep The Golem and The Phantom of the Opera in mind, it’s scary how many silents I need to see… it’s becoming increasingly overwhelming!

  7. I almost forgot. “Battleship Potemkin”! That’s a must see.

  8. I’ve seen Battleship Potemkin, so you don’t have to worry about that ! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

