Posted by: philosopherouge | November 15, 2007

Breaking the silence…

Yea, so that failed! I have a blog where I’m posting my favourite sthough if you’re interested, it’s HERE

I’ve seen a few movies in the past little while (since I last posted actually), not much time to review them unfortunately. I’ll try and update more regularly though from now on, here is the list with ratings, anything you want to hear thoughts on I’ll be happy to add a few words.

The Abominable Dr. Phibes (1971) 5/10

Shock Corridor (1963) 10/10

The Story of Temple Drake (1933) 7/10

Memories of Murder (2003) 9/10

No end in Sight (2007) 8/10

Funny Face (1957) 8/10

Outrage (1950) 7/10

The Awful Truth (1937) 10/10

Brothers (2004) 4/10

Michael Clayton (2007) 8.5/10

Kiss of Death (1947) 8/10

The Most Dangerous Game (1932) 7.5/10

Spring, Summer, Fall, Winter… and Spring (2003) 8.5/10

Audition (1999) 9/10

L’Atalante (Vigo, 1934) 9/10

Theodora Goes Wild (1936) 8/10

Scarface (1932) 10/10

No Country for Old Men (2007) 10/10

Responses

  1. I’m a bit bummed by the 5 for Dr. Phibes. Certainly it’s better than that?!

    I like Audition a lot too, though it has its detractors. Have you seen any more of Miike’s work?

  2. I thought Phibes was boring! A shame really, because it could have been fun.

    I haven’t seen any of Miike’s other films, I probably will though.

  3. See, my reaction was just the opposite. I found Dr. Phibes to be a lot of fun.

    I’ve only seen two other Miike films, Ichi the Killer and Gozu. From my understanding, most of his films are in the vein of these and more satirical than Audition (which is not lacking in satire of course). Both use tropes of the yakuza form, which I’m not at all familiar with, but if you’ve seen a few gangster films from outside Japan, you should be able to get what he’s doing.
    Ichi is rather farcical at times and reminds me of Tarantino. Gozu, like Audition, enters some Lychian territory and is so weird you won’t forget it.

  4. I meant “Lynchian,” not “Lychian.”


Leave a Reply

Categories

